April 2018

Above – Josh Dunkley Smith enjoys a win in the men’s four for the Bob Aitken Memorial Trophy with fellow winner Patrick Boomer and the silver medallists 


Follow this link for past news

Follow this link for upcoming events.

All news brought to you by your faithful correspondent Trident.


News covered below:

  • James Rook hits the airwaves
  • More Mercs members makes the senior team
  • From the Archives – Newsletter to Club members 16th November 1946
  • Awards Night – Sat 28th April 6.30pm
  • More bridge works – this time Princes Bridge
  • ANZAC Service and President’s Luncheon
  • Mercantile members in Australian senior team
  • Mercantile members in under age squads
  • Member Profiles
  • Thursday Night Social Hour

James Rook hits the airwaves

Published 21st April 2018


In case you missed James on Grandstand today, you can hear part of the interview here:

It’s missing the intro, but you can listen to the majority of it.


Go Mercs


More Mercs members makes the Senior team

Published 17th April 2018

As you will be aware, the 2018 Australian Rowing Team’s Women’s Eight was initially announced without a nominated coxswain, with the intention that the coxswain would be selected following the SIRR.


Further to this subsequent selection activity, RA announced today that the coxswain for the 2018 Australian Rowing Team’s Women’s Eight set to compete at World Rowing Cups 2 and 3 is our own James Rook. Clearly the girls know a good cox. He joins Kat & Addy on board. Kat currently rowing 7 seat and Addy in bow.


Above: James as cox of the men’s eight at Lucerne in 2017


This will be the first time that Australia has selected a male coxswain for its Women’s Eight in international competition. Rook made his debut for Australia in 2017, when he coxed the Men’s Coxed Pair and Men’s Eight, at the 2017 World Rowing Championships.


Great work Rooky.


Also, an error by your correspondent – Michael McNamara is in the squad of 5 for the AUS LM4x for World Cups 2 & 3. Thanks Chipper for the correction and apologies to Mick.


Above: Mick fifth from the left receiving medals for the lightweight eight


Go Mercs.


From the Archives – Newsletter to Club members 16th November 1946

Published 14th April 1946

The Club has recently been given some very interesting memorabilia from the family of the late J H Baker, a member in the years after WWII. Included is a Club newsletter to members as the Club returns to peace time activities – see below.

Club newsletter in post WWII times

Also included were a superbly handwritten invoice for membership, and also a receipt, duly stamped with Victorian Stamp Duty. You have easy these days Duncan!


Awards Night – Sat 28th April 6.30pm

Published 14 April 2018

Rather than wait until the Annual Meeting in the second half of the year, your Committee has brought forward to the conclusion of the season. The Cooper Trophy for the best club member will still be presented at the AGM.


The Presentation Night will be held on Saturday 28 April 2018, commencing at 6.30pm.


The Club congratulates the following members on their awards which will be presented on the night:


Captain’s Trophy for the rower/s with the highest number of wins in the season – one point per win with an additional point for a Championship win: Amanda Bateman & Georgie Gleeson


Max Bailey Trophy is awarded to most successful coxswain of the year calculated in the same manner as the Captain’s Trophy: Adelaide Cester


N.W. Cairnes Trophy for the improved coxswain of the year. Norman Cairnes was a giant of the Club and a very successful coach and perhaps an even better administrator. This year the award is won by Adelaide Cester


H.R. Frederico Trophy for the most improved oarswomen of the season. Hubert Frederico, or as everyone knew him “Freddy”, was an excellent rower, coach and administrator, who led the sport in so many ways. One of his many lasting legacies to the sport is the renaming of Jeffries Parade to Boathouse Drive. This year the award has been won by Ria Thompson


Late F.R. Browne Trophy for the most improved oarsman of the season: Joel Cain


Jeff Wylie Memorial Trophy for the most improved lightweight rower of the year. Jeff Wylie was a lightweight rower at the time of his untimely death on his way down to rowing in a motor vehicle accident. He was a much loved member and also Captain of the Club at the time of his death. This year the trophy is awarded to Michael McNamara


Keith Bilney Coaches Trophy for the coach who does the most to teach rowers how to row, win races and achieve their potential, and in so doing, develop the foundations of the Club and maintain the attitudes of sportsmanship, dedication and loyalty. Keith gave over 70 years of his life to the sport as a coxswain, sculler, oarsman, administrator but most of all as a coach. He gave of his time freely, instilling in his charges a love of the sport, a burning desire to win but with a balanced approach to life. The award this year goes to Brigette Carlile


Congratulations to these members.


More bridge works – this time Princes Bridge

Published 8th April 2018

The northern span of Princes Bridge on the Yarra River, the navigation and movement of vessel is prohibited in the waters of the Yarra River. The Prohibited areas extend 40 meters upstream and downstream from Princes Bridge northern span and will be marked by lit yellow communication buoys.

The exclusion zone has effect from 7.00am on 9 April 2018 to 5.00pm 20 May 2018.


ANZAC  Service and President’s Luncheon

Published 1st April 2018


Members and guests are invited to attend the annual ANZAC Service combined with a President’s Luncheon on Sunday 22nd April 2018 at the Clubhouse.


Luncheon is $35 with drinks at bar prices. RSVP Tuesday 17th April 2018.


Booking can be made through


Each year those members who did not return from service are remembered and their names read out to again echo around the Clubhouse. One member is recalled in detail and his deeds remembered by those present.


Mercantile members in Australian senior team

Published 1st April 2018

Congratulations to the following members of the senior team.

Men’s Eight

  • Liam Donald
  • Angus Widdicombe

Women’s Eight

  • Katrina Werry
  • Addy Dunkley Smith


These two crews will race at Henley Royal Regatta this year as well as World Cups.


2018 Underage and Para Selection Trials Invitation List

Published 1st April 2018

Congratulations to those members invited to the underage selection trials:

Under 21 Sweep

  • Kirstie Green
  • Skyla Froebel

Under 23 Sculling

  • Ria Thompson
  • Amanda Bateman

Under 23 Sweep

  • Alexander Clarke
  • Benjamin Canham

Under 23 coxswain

  • James Rook

Go Mercs


Member Profiles

Republished 1st April 2018

Each month more profiles are added.

We wish to record profiles of all current and past members so please submit others to Subject to editorial review, they will be published with the author’s name and date. The latest profile added is that of Roger Wilson, the voice of rowing.



Tuesday night masters ergo night

Republished 1st April 2018


With the masters now doing ergos on Tuesday nights, the gym is getting crowded after 6pm. Every ergo was used on 1st August and there was not even a need for an ambulance.


Tuesday night is ergo night


Thursday Masters Nights

Republished 1st February 2018

Reminder that all masters rowers are welcome for a row on Thursday nights followed by a sausage sizzle and refreshments. Row at 6pm and sausage sizzle at 7.30pm. All welcome. Please call Andrew Guerin on 0417 554799 to get put on the weekly email.



Thursday nights after the row

Past news can be found through this link.